top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria S. Rios-Rivas

Oh you poor little one


Such sadness, such sorrow…

Oh little girl of my past, how I want to hold you and kiss you in reassurance.

Oh little one, the one that is still in me somewhere…

Little girl little girl, don’t cry no more,

Look up to the Heavens,

Look up towards the Hope!

Oh little one, how blackened is your heart?

Don’t let it turn to stone,

warm it up here in MY heart, let it defrost and mold into hope.

Be loved, little one be loved, allow them to hold you and caress you.

Oh little girl, don’t be scared, there’s light at the end of the tunnel.

and our Lord Jesus is there already protecting you!

Oh little one, little one, what more can I do?

Put down those razors and put down those pills,

There’s love for you here, abundant love.

There is love for you, and there’s love for me too.

Oh little girl, little girl.

There is Hope Worth Living For.

There IS Hope for you, oh

little one.




11/07/**

I wrote this poem shortly after reading my last thoughts I had written down before I attempted suicide in October of 20**. When I read my own words so much sadness and grief spilled out of me and I wanted to just hold myself. I was so sad and broken from my unhealthy relationship, scattered brain from school and death of my grandfather that I had allowed myself to be so sad. And I had lost hope. I find myself sad to this day, but I know I am stronger and tougher. I will not belittle that. I have grown, but I’m still struggling, and I know I should be kind to myself. Be kind to yourself. Please. Be kind. We are our own worst enemy as many say. But I think we are just sad small creatures, fighting against ourselves to survive. Let go, and let God.


















Photo: Florence, Italy


23 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


rayb96
rayb96
27 dic 2020

Since I'm biased towards the girls in my life, this poem hit really close to me. Your strength is just amazing

Me gusta
bottom of page