top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria S. Rios-Rivas

Shivers...


Run along my spine

And I’m not sure how many times

It takes to figure it out


My love for you multiplies

When I look away it reignites

But I’ve come to realize

it’ll just take some time


To redefine the meaning of all my life

Why do I reach out to the one who has no doubt

that they want me out of their life right now


Was the problem that I over gave?

Was the problem that I over communicated?

Was the problem that I over expected?

No, the problem is that he was not strong enough... right now...


It’s true I wanted out

And it’s true I tried to say goodbye

But it was the sound of my friend

It was the memories of my family

That stopped me from dying


I tied myself to you

I only wanted you

But it wasn’t fair to constantly give into you

I never gave myself some time

To heal my deepening wounds


Instead I found ourselves crashing

In the hands of doubt and self sacrifice.

Darkness is here and it’s drawing me close to sin.


What can I say right now?

There’s no love for me here...

I’ve been used, reused, and disused.

No wonder I’ve been thrown away.


By: Victoria S. Rios-Rivas


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page