top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria S. Rios-Rivas

The Name Verbally Released

One name. It’s all it took. One simple, lousy name.

Two syllables. Four letters. Then boom! Freedom!


I can live again, I tell myself one day. I can live again and be free.

No longer do I have to relive that moment. No longer do I have to be afraid. No longer do I let a name keep hold of me as captive.


No more. No more. Again, I say no more.


Once I had spoken that name aloud, it was as if an invisible, suffocating cloak was lifted off of me, and for that I thank God above. I spoke, and I felt relief. Relief that I didn’t allow another tear drop to fall. Relief to know that he was not still lurking about somewhere.


He’s not here. He won’t hurt me. He won’t pin me. He won’t penetrate me. He won’t make me freeze—because his name no longer holds dominion over me.


Because his name is Just a name, and that’s all it ever was. Two syllables. Four letters. Importance? Ranks just as his heart would: Absolute Zero.


02/09/2019 2:26pm

~V.S.R.R.



124 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


rayb96
rayb96
Dec 27, 2020

I'm so happy you had this breakthrough

Like
bottom of page